Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Happy International Jazz Day!

In addition to being the final day of Jazz Appreciation Month 2014, Wednesday, April 30 is the third annual International Jazz Day, a worldwide celebration of jazz presented by UNESCO and the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz. Once again this year, the celebration will include a "global concert" featuring an lineup of top jazz talent, broadcast live from this year's host city, Osaka, Japan.

The concert at the famed outdoor Osaka Castle Park will feature performances by Toshiko Akiyoshi, John Beasley, Kris Bowers, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Terri Lyne Carrington, Theo Croker, Sheila E., Pete Escovedo, Roberta Gambarini, Kenny Garrett, James Genus, Roy Hargrove, Lalah Hathaway, Terumasa Hino, Earl Klugh, Marcus Miller, T.S. Monk, Gregory Porter, Claudio Roditi, John Scofield, Wayne Shorter, Esperanza Spalding, Lew Tabackin, Steve Turre, and others.

The concert begins at 5:00 a.m. St. Louis time, and you can watch the live stream in the embedded video window down below. (For readers elsewhere, that time translates to 7:00 p.m. in the host city of Osaka, 11:00 a.m. in London, 6:00 a.m. in NYC, and 3:00 a.m. in Los Angeles.)

UPDATE - 11:00 a.m. 4/30/14: Apologies to anyone who's tried to watch the IJD concert via the YouTube embed on this page and got a message saying "This video is private." Following the conclusion of the live show from Osaka, there was supposed to be a streaming-on-demand version of the concert available, but it apparently has not come online yet. Not sure what's going on there, but until it gets sorted out, the video embed has been pulled.

UPDATE - 2:45 p.m., 4/30/14:: The technical issues appear to be resolved, and the concert now is available for viewing "on demand":



(Concert footage begins at 30:45 into the video.)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...