Monday, June 03, 2013

Clark Terry to be inducted into
Jazz Hall of Fame on Tuesday, June 4

Trumpeter and St. Louis native Clark Terry, drummer Art Blakey and vibraphonist Lionel Hampton will be honored tomorrow with induction into Jazz at Lincoln Center's Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will take place at 1:00 p.m. Eastern time on Tuesday, June 4 at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, which is located within JALC’s home, Frederick P. Rose Hall in NYC. The ceremony will be webcast at (You also can watch the webcast right here on StLJN in the embedded video window below.)

Actor Courtney B. Vance will read remarks by author Geoff Ward honoring each inductee, and the ceremony will celebrate them through photo montages and performances by musicians including Jonathan Batiste, Dominick Farinacci, Roy Hargrove, Jimmy Heath, Ali Jackson, Warren Wolf, and others.

A news release said that "family members and representatives will accept the awards on behalf of the inductees." Terry (pictured), who's 92 and in poor health and thus unable to travel from his home in Arkansas to NYC for the ceremony, nevertheless is only the third living musician (along with Sonny Rollins and Ornette Coleman) to be honored with induction into the Hall.

Terry, Blakey and Hampton earned the majority of the popular vote cast by jazz fans around the world in an online public ballot earlier this year.

The Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame honors musicians and members of the jazz community based on "his or her singular dedication and outstanding contribution to jazz," with a total of 38 honorees so far. This year’s inductees were nominated by a committee of musicians and scholars including Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Stanley Crouch, Jon Faddis, Vince Giordano, Wynton Marsalis, Dianne Reeves, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, and Spike Wilner.

No comments: